Top 5 Favourite TV Shows of Summer 2015

I love binge watching a good TV show, unfortunately because of exams I haven’t had the time to do so this summer. It’s such a bummer, but on the other hand I get to savor my moments in front of my TV watching only the best shows (when your planned lunch break isn’t that long no one wants to waste time on bad TV shows). The TV shows included here can be found on Netflix.

1. New Girl

We all know that feeling, girl

Episode length: approx. 20 mins. Number of seasons: 3.

I watched so much New Girl at the beginning of my “vacation” that I almost cried when the last episode ended. Netflix Denmark unfortunately only carry up until season three, but I love that stuff. It’s an “easy watch” because it isn’t overly dramatic, but HILARIOUS. It’s so funny that I sometimes burst out laughing. Which is kind of embarrassing since my roommate knows, I’m not having any guests and I’m not on the phone. It’s so awkward laughing on your own, but I can never control myself when New Girl is on.

2. Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Episode length: approx. 20 mins. Number of seasons: 2.

This show is so stupid, funny and brilliant at the same time! Andy Samberg from The Lonely Island is the funniest ever in this TV show about a fictional New York Police Department in Brooklyn, and contains so many funny elements, I can’t remember them all. The police captain has the same facial expression throughout the entire series, Terry Crews portrays a family dad with a strange love of yogurt, and every criminal is the weirdest people ever.

3. Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp

Episode length: approx. 30 mins. Number of seasons: 1.

My first thought when seeing the title was not pleasant. To me, this looked like something people in their early teens would watch, you know, American Pie-ish. I really dislike the entire industry that’s producing these types of movies and TV shows. I just never find them funny, sorry. I think it was
the list of actors that made me click this. Wet Hot American Summer is PACKED with celebrities. From Amy Poehler to Paul Rudd to Bradley Cooper. These three actors are some of my favourites, and I have yet to regret clicking on the TV series. Two or three episodes in, I realized that the series is based on a film from 2001 with the same actors (I’m serious, almost everyone from the original set is in the series), and after watching the
movie the entire series made more sense. And that is not much sense. Wet Hot Aamerican Summer is packed with over-the-top stuff that makes zero sense, but it’s hilarious none the less.

4. Bones

Episode length: approx. 40 mins. Number of seasons: 9.

If you watch (or have been watching) Bones, you know what I’m talking about here. I watched the first five or six seasons, took a break, and now I’m back. And this series has never gotten bad or overly dramatic (Glee, I’m talking about you here). Bones is, simple as can be, just really well-made crime-fighting show. If you aren’t watching already, go do that.

5. Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Episode length: approx. 20 mins. Number of seasons: 1.

This show is the cutest ever. Nanna was actually the one who made me aware of this show, and I have to say, I’ve fallen a little bit in love. The show is about Kimmy, who has escaped a doomsday cult and decides to move to New York to start her new life. Kimmy is incredible naive, but really sweet, making it impossible not to love her. This, if you ask me, is a complete must-watch show.

Let me know in the comments what TV shows you’ve been loving this summer, I could always use some inspiration.

Love, Nina

Sources:

  • Tumblr
  • Giphy
  • MTV

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Favourite TV Shows of Summer 2015

    1. Jeg er også vild med Sherlock! Jeg mangler kun at se det sidste afsnit, men det gemmer jeg til efter eksamen 🙂 jeg har prøvet at se Gossip Girl, men det fangede mig ikke rigtigt… Hvad siger du til den?

      Like

Leave a comment