Watching Bad Christmas Movies

So have you ever noticed how many bad and cliche Christmas movies there are? Well, to be frank, they are to be found in bucket loads. Every year different Christmas movies get broadcast on television, and with probably every available streaming service at hand, I’ve watched my fair share of movies. Not every movie onto here is particularly bad, but they are very cliche-ey, and well, they are almost the same. So if you are wondering whether these movies are worth you time, you can find out here.

The Family Stone

Okay, I’m starting off with a movie that isn’t bad at all. It’s actually my favourite

Billedresultat for the family stone gif
Source: Bustle

Christmas movie, and I make sure to watch it every year. The story revolves around Meredith who spends Christmas with her boyfriend’s family. The issue is that nobody really likes Meredith, because she comes off as uptight, racist and homophobic. The movie is filled with funny moments, and it even makes me cry. It’s stuffed with A-list actors and actresses, like Claire Danes, Luke Wilson, Sarah Jessica Parker, Diane Keaton, Rachel McAdams and more. I just love it.

Score: 9/10

A Royal Christmas

Feelin' Royal GIF - Scottdisick Kuwtk Royal GIFs
Source: Tenor.co

This is one of those bad movies. It’s so dull, and actually the plot is not innovative at all. This particular movie is one out of two on this list that contain a royal person of some sort. Here, the main character, Emily, has been dating a guy for a year who admits to her that he is in fact a prince. They go to spend Christmas in his native country, Cordinia, only to discover that the queen hates Emily. You can probably figure out the rest of the plot for yourself. The movie features Lacey Chabert, who played Gretchen in Mean Girls, and I was really excited for that, but I shouldn’t have. I find her character insignificant and bland, and this movie made me feel nothing at all. I can only recommend this movie if you are looking for a typical Hallmark Christmas movie, because that is all that this is.

Score: 3/10

Once Upon A Holiday

Elf GIF - Elf GIFs
Source: Tenor.co

If the title didn’t lead you on, this is that other royal themed Christmas movie I mentioned before. This movie is about a princess who wants a day off from her royal duties, but gets lost in New York City. Here she meets a cute guy, with whom she doesn’t share her real identity at first. This is another movie with a not very surprising plot, and even though it differs from A Royal Christmas, it still has the Hallmark vibe. It’s not that good, but it has a few moments that are not horrible.

Score: 4/10

Holiday in Handcuffs

This is one of the better Christmas movies on this list. I clicked on this movie because it

Billedresultat for holiday in handcuffs gif
Source: Tumblr

stars Melissa Joan Hart and Mario Lopez (who takes his shirt off in this movie, as he should in every movie), who delivers. In the newer stuff I’ve seen Hart in, I kind of find her acting over the top, but she was pretty good here (although that might be because I watched Once Upon a Christmas before this). The movie’s plot is pretty unrealistic with Hart’s character kidnapping Lopez to not disappoint her family by not showing up without a boyfriend. It’s a cute movie when you don’t think too much about the plot, and it had me rooting for the characters in the end, and that’s always a plus.

Score: 7/10

Four Holidays/Christmases

This movie revolves around Kate and Brad who has to visit their family on Christmas.

Billedresultat for four christmases gif
Source: The Loop

The problem is that even though they consider their relationship to be great, they don’t really know much about each others’ childhood, and it’s the visits to their divorced parents that make them wonder about their relationship. It’s a funny movie, but I don’t watch it every year for a reason. Vince Vaughn gets on my nerves pretty easily, and even though I love Reese Witherspoon, this movie has some notes that make it similar to Wedding Crashers, which I’m not too much into. But if you like that, you’ll probably like this one too.

Score: 6/10.

Which Christmas movies do you watch every year? Have you watched any of these? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment