Books on my Nightstand

I’m notorious for starting a book and then stating another before finishing the first. I could probably do an entire post on the books in my apartment that I’m still reading (I’ve been reading Lord of the Rings for about ten years), but here I’m just gonna go with my current reading. Or, the books I’ve yet to remove from my nightstand.

Billedresultat for harry potter funny
Source: Pinterest

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

For Christmas a few years back, my parents gave me this book. I loved The Golden Compass which is the movie version of the first novel in the series, Northern Lights, and I was one of those who waited years for the next movie in the series, only to Google it and find out that the Catholic Church didn’t like the way the Church was pictured in here, why a sequel never happened. I’m from Denmark, and we don’t get all defensive when we are pictured in some way, but I guess the Church do. Anyway, this book has been laying on my nightstand since I finished The Maze Runner series this summer. I read the first novel, Northern Lights, as my light night reading,

Billedresultat for hermione light reading
Source: GIF Soup

and I loved the story. But then I began reading the sequel, The Subtle Knife, and it just didn’t really catch the whole alternate universe thing that’s going on. I only read the first chapter, and then I got distracted by something else.

For those of you, who haven’t read the book or watched the movie, here’s somewhat of a summary: Lyra is an orphan who live at Oxford College. She’s mostly brought up by scholars at the College, but that does not stop her from being somewhat of a rebel. She hates being dressed fancy and she spends most of her time pranking everyone. The only one she respects is her uncle, and he rarely visits. One day this woman, Mrs. Coulter shows up and “adopts” Lyra, which as first is nice, but then everything gets suspicious. Well, the story is great, and it’s really hard for me to explain, so here’s the movie trailer for you:

Fasandræberne aka. The Absent One aka. Disgrace by Jussi Adler-Olsen

So this particular book is very atypical for me. If you have been hanging around here a while, you know that I am a sucker for fantasy and sci-fi, and don’t really venture much into books that are real fiction. But this one is! The author is a Dane, which is why the Danish title is in the headline (I featured the American and English ones too). I’m reading this in my native language, because I always feel that you get more out of a book, when you read in the author’s written words instead of the translated ones. Fasandærberne is the second book in the series about Department Q, which is a part of the Copenhagen Police Force, which deals with old cold cases. I read the first one a couple of weeks ago, and the story is just so captivating. To me, Adler-Olsen is very skilled in picturing Denmark as it is (we are not all bikes, and happy people, and hygge), but still maintaining to tell a story that feels real.

Billedresultat for the absent one
Source: Hey U Guys

This sequel is about a pair of twins who are found murdered in a vacation house close to a boarding school back in 1994. The police suspects that the crime has been done by a group of high-schoolers from the boarding school, but when a guy admits to the crime, the case drops. Well, that is until the case file lands on the desk of detective chief Carl Mørck. He starts to look into the case and ends up in a tight webbed net of money and rich people. The entire series has been filmatised

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Billedresultat for the hobbit funny
Source: Funny Pictures Plus

My last rant about this book was illustrated in my post about stuff to do when you’re sick. And to be fair, I do not have any new or insightful opinions upon this particular subject. The book is just so boring that I keep it around in case I cant fall a sleep and need to think about something boring to do so. The story is super cute, but just so looooong. This is also the reason that I’m on my tenth year reading The Lord of the Rings. Sorry, J. R. R., but I’m sticking to the movies.

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Did you honestly think I could make it through a post without

Billedresultat for city of bones funny
Source: Pinterest

even MENTIONING Shadowhunters? Well, the answer to that is no. I’ve been ranting about this franchise for quite some time, and when the books finally did show up I had to do everything in my power to not just devour them in two days. And I have to say, I’m really proud of myself for not doing just that. I did read the first two books pretty quickly, but I’m taking my time with this one.

City of Glass is the third book in the series The Mortal Instruments, and let me just draw the outline of the story for you:

Clary and Jace are siblings, but this is brand new info, because their father, Valentine, who is the bad guy in this story, only told them so after they fell in love with each other. This is really inconvenient, especially because their mother is asleep, because she drank a potion, and can neither confirm nor deny this. And I really hope that she denies it. Well! These guys (Clary, Jace, Valentine, etc.) are Shadowhunters, who has made a living of hunting demons and sending them back to their own dimensions. OKAY. This third book is about Clary and Jace and the whole shabang travelling to the Shadowhunter land Idris to (I’m not really sure, why they’re going) get to a warlock (half human, half demon) who is able to make an antidote, to wake Clary’s mother up. Some stuff happens, and it’s exciting and confusing, but also really good. I’ve made it a fourth way through and this far, I can recommend it a lot.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

Billedresultat for harry potter funny
Source: Buzzfeed

I’m always reading Harry Potter. It’s just the gateway series to every series I’ve read since my mom read me the first one, probably fifteen years ago. I’m reading these books while I brush my teeth, so actually it’s more in my bathroom than on my nightstand. Anyways, I’ve always had problematic teeth, and that does not improve if you take thirty seconds in brushing them at night. This is why I found out that reading two pages in an HP-book every night while brushing, is the most perfect thing in making sure you get your teeth brushed while not being bored. I don’t think, I need to recap what these books are about, because if you can read (and are reading this), you’ve probably already consumed every HP book.

That was what I have laying around on my nightstand. What book do you reach for? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment